einklang.net presents: theBeauty
 
does universal beauty exist? an einklang.net and extrawelt production released at breakpoint08.
 
credits

code_design
: pet
music
: extrawelt
using
: altona
additional gfx
: felix wiesner
  borys las-opolski
  max böhm
  arne lösekann
 
this demo requires modern 3d-cards with pixelshader 3.0 and the d3dx9_32.dll to run. if you have problems to run the demo just download the latest directx version and everything will be fine.

download theBeauty - realtime for pc only (49 mb)
download theBeauty - wm9 (5:52 min - 255.0 mb)
download theBeauty - mpg2 (5:52 min - 197.0 mb)
or watch this 720p mp4 stream
or visit www.pouet.net oder www.scene.org.

screenshots:
 
 
 
thanks go to:
jürgen schneider * tjurn * steffen haubner * frank sievers * chaos * kb * wayfinder * the altona connection

music is licensed by kompass musik. all righs reserved. visit kompass musik at www.kompassmusik.de. the track is called -DistTheme-

respect:
andromeda * and * asd * bauknecht * bypass * cocoon * equinox * exceed * fairlight * farbrausch * haujobb * kewlers * kolor * l.k.c.c. * loonies * mfx * moppi * nesnausk! * neuro * plastic * rebels * smash designs * still * the black lotus * traction * ukscene allstars * ümlaüt design

in case of bugs send in a mail including details describing computer and problem via bugs@einklang.net. do not wait.

don't even try it! (youtube version)
 
 
who the f..k is berta?

a strange species

maybe the strangest thing about these creatures who do not even have a common name is the fact that they only just have been discovered. how could a species, and a whole planet inhabited by them, be kept hidden from the eyes of science for so long? did they elude from the visible world on purpose or were they victims of a human ignorance that disesteems everything it does not understand? that tends to deny beauty if it is not of earthly or, still worse, of human origin.
now that we know they exist we have to admit that they call into question nearly everything we thought we knew about the laws of reproduction and evolution. when we said that the strangest thing about them were the millenniums of secret existence they lead this does not mean that it was their only peculiarity. on the contrary.

berta

what was there first? berta or ono? our strange species adds a completely new dimension to this question which recalls the mother of all questions. berta is a female, permanently in search of food, together with her offspring. a strenuous undertaking in the barren landscape of terra which at the most knows how to satisfy the needs of the eye, but not those of the body. needless to expect help from the male who is only useful for copulation and hardly able to care for himself. he prefers to gang up with other males, to roam about haphazardly and to wait for another female to send out her attractants which is the only stimulus that serves as an incentive in his dull existence. after having done his duties he lapses back into apathy and would not recognize his own offspring even if it stood in front of him.
so the self-sacrificing berta is the epitome of the maternal principle. she takes loving care of her offspring and often undertakes long walks to find them something to eat. she does not have any natural enemies. no creature would dare to approach this gigantic figure and to submit to her hatred that hits anyone who might be a threat to her offspring.

ono

the young itself is all the more helpless. without its mother’s protection it would be inevitably doomed to die. so the predominant picture in terra – apart from the dreary gatherings of the males – is this: an ono, of a still uncertain walk and blind for its surroundings that are as impressive as menacing, followed by the giant shadow of its mother. and yet this helpless creature is of enormous importance for the future of its species. yes, of course its existence is the basis for the survival of the species. but there is a very special responsibility that rests on its, well, shoulders – if you excuse this rather inappropriate term.
the reason is that the ono, which is born sexless, has to decide for itself whether it wants to become a male or a female, whether it wants to succeed its undutiful father or its provident mother. what a decision! once the decision is made, the ono’s childhood ends and a phase of two years of gradual withdrawal from the mother begins. but how does this innocent creature come to terms with the incredible burden of its decision? how is it that not all onos succeed the mighty mother but that nearly half of them submit to the obviously dreary fate of their fathers? and would not the whole species be doomed to extinction if this was not the case?

terra

a strange planet, this bleak terra, but not lacking beauty. at any rate it raises more questions than it answers. you could almost get the impression that the nameless males know more about what is going on than you would credit them with. but only almost.

einklang.net presents: theBeauty
 
gibt es die universelle schönheit? einklang.net und extrawelt auf der breakpoint08.
 
credits

code_design
: pet
music
: extrawelt
using
: altona
additional gfx
: felix wiesner
  borys las-opolski
  max böhm
  arne lösekann
 
zum starten das demos benötigt man moderne 3d-hardware mit pixelshader 3.0 und die d3d9_32.dll. wem das alles nix sagt, der sollte sich die neuste directx version runterladen und installieren, dann funzt es auch!

download theBeauty - realtime for pc only (49 mb)
download theBeauty - wm9 (5:52 min - 255.0 mb)
download theBeauty - mpg2 (5:52 min - 197.0 mb)
gucken geht auch mit dem 720p mp4 stream
oder besucht alternativ www.pouet.net oder www.scene.org.

screenshots:
 
 
 
danke danke danke:
jürgen schneider * tjurn * steffen haubner * frank sievers * chaos * kb * wayfinder * the altona connection

music is licensed by kompass musik. all righs reserved. visit kompass musik at www.kompassmusik.de. the track is called -DistTheme-

respect:
andromeda * and * asd * bauknecht * bypass * cocoon * equinox * exceed * fairlight * farbrausch * haujobb * kewlers * kolor * l.k.c.c. * loonies * mfx * moppi * nesnausk! * neuro * plastic * rebels * smash designs * still * the black lotus * traction * ukscene allstars * ümlaüt design

bei startproblemen und bugs bitte eine kurze mail mit computer- und bugbeschreibung an bugs@einklang.net schicken.

auf gar keinen fall gucken (youtube version)
 
 
who the f..k is berta?

eine seltsame spezies

das seltsamste an diesen wesen, die bisher noch nicht einmal einen gemeinsamen namen haben, ist vielleicht, dass sie erst jetzt entdeckt wurden. wie konnte eine spezies, ja ein ganzer planet, der von ihr bevölkert wird, so lange vor den augen der wissenschaft verborgen bleiben? haben sie sich absichtlich der sichtbaren welt entzogen oder wurden sie opfer der menschlichen ignoranz, die all das gering schätzt, was sie nicht versteht? die dazu neigt, schönheit zu verleugnen, nur weil sie nicht irdischen und, schlimmer noch, nicht menschlichen ursprungs ist.
nun, da wir wissen, dass es sie gibt, müssen wir feststellen, dass sie im grunde alles in frage stellen, was wir über die gesetze der fortpflanzung und der evolution zu wissen glaubten. denn wenn wir eingangs sagten, das seltsamste sei ihre jahrtausende währende existenz im verborgenen, so heißt das keineswegs, dass sie darüber hinaus keine absonderlichkeiten zu bieten hätten. nein, ganz im gegenteil.

berta

was war zuerst da? berta oder ono? diese frage, die an die mutter aller fragen gemahnt, bekommt durch unsere seltsame spezies eine völlig neue dimension. berta ist ein weibchen, mit ihrem nachwuchs stets auf nahrungssuche unterwegs. ein mühsames geschäft inmitten der kargen landschaft von terra, die höchstens die bedürfnisse des auges, nicht aber die des körpers reichhaltig zu befriedigen weiß. vom männchen braucht sie sich keine hilfe zu erhoffen, das ist gerade einmal zum paarungsakt zu gebrauchen und kaum in der lage, sich selbst zu ernähren. lieber rottet es sich mit anderen männchen zusammen, streift ziel- und planlos durch die gegend und wartet darauf, dass ein weiteres weibchen seine duftstoffe aussendet, denn dies ist der einzige reiz, der seinem trüben dasein antrieb gibt. ist seine pflicht getan, verfällt es wieder in apathie und würde noch nicht einmal seine eigenen nachkommen erkennen, wenn sie vor ihm stünden.
so ist die aufopferungsvolle berta ein sinnbild des mütterlichen schlechthin. sie kümmert sich liebevoll um den nachwuchs und nimmt oft riesige märsche auf sich, um etwas nahrhaftes zu finden. sie selbst hat keine natürlichen feinde. kein anderes wesen würde sich ihrer gigantengestalt nähern und sich ihrem hass aussetzen, der jeden trifft, den sie für eine bedrohung für ihren nachwuchs hält.

ono

umso hilfloser ist das junge selbst. ohne den schutz der mutter wäre es unweigerlich verloren und dem tode geweiht. und so bietet sich dem wanderer durch terra – abgesehen von den traurigen versammlungen der väter – zumeist dieses bild: ein ono, noch unsicheren schrittes und blind für seine ebenso imposante wie bedrohliche umwelt, gefolgt vom riesenhaften schatten des muttertiers. und doch kommt diesem hilflosen wesen eine immense bedeutung für die zukunft seiner art zu. ja, natürlich ist seine existenz die grundlage dafür, dass die spezies fortbesteht. aber auf seinen – man entschuldige den eher unpassenden begriff – schultern ruht auch eine ganz besondere verantwortung.
denn das ono, geschlechtslos geboren, entscheidet selbst, ob es ein männchen oder ein weibchen werden, ob es dem pflichtvergessenen vater oder aber der fürsorglichen mutter nachfolgen will. was für eine entscheidung! ist sie getroffen, endet die kindheit des ono und eine zweijährige phase beginnt, innerhalb derer es sich allmählich von der mutter entfernt. wie aber bewältigt dieses unschuldige wesen die unglaubliche bürde seiner verantwortung? wie ist es möglich, dass nicht alle onos der übermächtigen mutter nacheifern, sondern sich in etwa die hälfte freiwillig in das offenkundig triste schicksal ihrer väter fügt? und wäre nicht diese ganze seltsame spezies dem untergang geweiht, wenn dem nicht so wäre?

terra

es ist ein eigenartiger planet, dieses karge terra, aber er ist nicht ohne schönheit. jedenfalls wirft mehr fragen auf als er beantwortet. fast hat man den eindruck, die namenlosen männchen wüssten mehr über die zusammenhänge als man es ihnen zutraut. aber eben nur fast.